ICT For Life Sciences Forum

ICT leaders elected to Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering

1 November 2012


Two Australian ICT leaders, Mr Glen Wightwick and Professor Stan Skafidas, were recently elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of Sciences and Technological Engineering (ATSE).  ATSE is an independent body of 80 eminent Australian engineers and scientists driving technological solutions for a better Australia.


The ATSE  citation for Mr Wightwick read as follows:  Mr Glen Wightwick FTSE is Director R&D and Chief Technology Officer of IBM Australia.  He has made a contribution to developing Australia’s ICT industrial R&D base, driving the establishment and growth of IBM’s Australian Technology Development Laboratory to become one of the largest in Australia , with more than 650 staff, and then driving the establishment of IBM’s Australian Research Laboratory.  He is a significant contributor to Australia’s innovation system, with key Government and university roles, and is one of the best known and respected ICT industry R&D leaders in Australia.


The ATSE citation for Professor Skafidas read as follows:  Professor Stan Skafidas FTSE is the Director, Centre for Neural Engineering, University of Melbourne.  He is recognised for his vision, leadership and major technical accomplishments in industry, research institutions, academia and international standardisation committees.  Adaptive-frequency hopping technology that he developed now forms a critical part of the Bluetooth standard and has been incorporated in several billion devices.  His research in nano-electronics has advanced the disciplines of wireless communications, single chip radars and medical diagnostic systems.